Logitech vs Thrustmaster Wheel Bases: What the Specs Say
Short answer: Logitech and Thrustmaster both make wheel bases for PC and the major consoles, but their listings read differently. Logitech G states torque on its racing page: the G923 is stated at 2.3 Nm with TRUEFORCE, and the RS50 direct drive base at 8 Nm with TRUEFORCE. Thrustmaster's home page names wheel add-ons and the T-LCM pedals, but does not state an Nm figure for a base there. The deciding factors are the stated torque, the ecosystem of pedals and shifters, and the platforms each listing names.
What the brand names tell you
Logitech and Thrustmaster are the brand names you will see at the start of many racing wheel listings. The brand string points to the maker, and the words after it point to the series or the product line. Logitech G groups its racing products into brand ecosystems: G Series, PRO Series, and Racing Series, with product types that include steering wheels, wheel bases, pedals, and shifters. Thrustmaster's home page presents racing products by name, such as the Ferrari 499P wheel and the Formula Wheel Add-On. The series name in a listing helps you place the base in the lineup, but it does not state torque or platform by itself.
When a listing says wheel base, it is naming the part of the system that holds the motor and connects to the wheel rim. A base may be sold alone, with a wheel, or inside a bundle. On the Logitech G page, the RS50 Base is listed as a wheel base, while the RS50 System includes the wheel. Thrustmaster sells its wheel add-ons as separate rims, which points to a base that you choose separately. The words in the title tell you what is included, not how the base performs.
Stated torque figures
Torque, expressed in Nm, is a stated figure on some listings and describes how much force the base can apply to the wheel. The Logitech G racing page states 2.3 Nm for the G923 with TRUEFORCE, and 8 Nm for both the RS50 Base and the RS50 System with TRUEFORCE. Thrustmaster's home page does not state an Nm figure for any wheel base; the products it names there are wheel add-ons and the T-LCM pedals. When the maker does not state Nm on the page you read, the product detail page or the manual is the place to look. For a closer reading of torque figures, see this guide on how much force feedback torque is enough.
The market also includes makers such as Fanatec, whose home page centers on a quick release and a single base for every rim type. Comparing stated torque between two brands only works when both state a figure on the pages you have. When one leaves it out, you compare the details that are stated: drive type if named, platforms named, and the parts in the box. The high torque racing wheels guide collects bases by their stated torque.
| Detail | Logitech G racing page | Thrustmaster home page |
|---|---|---|
| Stated torque | G923: 2.3 Nm; RS50 base and system: 8 Nm | Not stated |
| Stated drive type | RS50: direct drive | Not stated |
| Platform labels | PC Only, PlayStation - PC, XBOX - PC | PC, PS4, PS5, XBOX |
| Pedals named | RS Pedals, RS Pedals SE | T-LCM Pedals |
Ecosystem and add-ons
A wheel base rarely works alone. The ecosystem around it is the set of pedals, shifters, handbrakes, and rims the maker sells and supports. Logitech G lists the RS Pedals with a 75 kg load cell and Hall effect sensors, the RS Pedals SE with Hall effect brake and gas pedals, and the RS H-SHIFTER with a 7+R H pattern. Thrustmaster's home page shows the T-LCM pedal set and wheel add-ons such as the Formula Wheel Add-On Ferrari SF-25 Edition and the GT Wheel Add-On. The product names tell you which parts the maker treats as separate purchases, which matters when you plan interchangeable rims later.
The product type filter on the Logitech G page separates steering wheels, wheel bases, pedals, and shifters, so you can see which parts exist for a series. Thrustmaster's add-on wording serves the same purpose: a wheel add-on is a rim, and the base is the motor part of the system.
- Logitech G names G Series, PRO Series, and Racing Series on its racing page.
- Thrustmaster names the Ferrari 499P wheel and the GT Wheel Add-On on its home page.
- A quick release system appears on the Fanatec page, and the Logitech page lists quick release as a feature.
Compatibility: PC, PlayStation, and Xbox
The platforms a base supports come from the listing and from the maker's compatibility list. Logitech G's filters name three platform groups: PC Only, PlayStation - PC, and XBOX - PC. Thrustmaster's home page labels its racing products for PC, PS4, PS5, and Xbox. A title that names one console family does not guarantee support for another, and console compatibility for a base is confirmed by the maker's list.
For a console pick, start with your console. If you play on PS5, check the PS5 racing wheel guide; if you play on Xbox, check the Xbox racing wheel guide. Both Logitech and Thrustmaster name products for these platforms on their pages, but the exact model decides what works with your setup.
What to check on the maker page
Before you choose between a Logitech base and a Thrustmaster base, open the maker's page for the exact model. The Logitech G wheel guide collects the stated details of Logitech bases, and the Thrustmaster wheel guide does the same for Thrustmaster. The maker's support pages hold the manual, the driver software, and the compatibility list.
Use a shortlist of two or three bases and compare the listed details: stated Nm, drive type if stated, platforms named, and which parts come in the box. For a first base, a bundle that includes the wheel and pedals can simplify the first purchase; for an upgrade, a base alone gives you the choice of rims later. The guides on this site compare these stated details; they do not measure or rate how a base performs. When a detail is missing, the maker's page is the next step.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You want a Logitech base with a stated torque figure on the maker page | The G923 at 2.3 Nm or the RS50 direct drive base at 8 Nm | Best Logitech G Racing Wheel in 2026: 9 Picks by Specs |
| You want a Thrustmaster base and need the product page for torque | A Thrustmaster wheel from the current racing line, with the torque checked on the product page | Best Thrustmaster Racing Wheels in 2026: 12 Picks by Specs |
| You want a direct drive base | The RS50 base or system from Logitech, or a direct drive base from another maker | Best Direct Drive Racing Wheels in 2026: 13 Picks by Specs |
| You play on PS5 | A base that the maker's compatibility list names for PS5 | Best Racing Wheel for PS5 (2026): PS5 Racing Wheel Reviews |
| You play on Xbox | A base the maker's compatibility list names for Xbox | Best Racing Wheel for Xbox (2026): 13 Picks by Stated Details |
| You want pedals and a wheel in one decision | A bundle or system that includes the base, wheel, and pedals | Best Racing Wheel and Pedals (2026): 13 Picks by Specs |
| You want force feedback as a named feature | A base listed with TRUEFORCE or another named force feedback system | Best Force Feedback Racing Wheels in 2026: 12 Picks by Specs |
Questions
Do Logitech and Thrustmaster state the same details on their maker pages?
No. Logitech G states 2.3 Nm for the G923 and 8 Nm for the RS50 base on its racing page. Thrustmaster's home page does not state Nm for a base; the product page for the exact model is the place to look.
Which brand supports PS5 and Xbox?
Both makers name PC, PlayStation, and Xbox products on their pages. Exact support is model-specific, and the maker's compatibility list decides what works with your console.
What does TRUEFORCE mean in a title?
TRUEFORCE is a trade name Logitech G uses on the G923 and RS50 listings. It appears as a feature in the title; it does not state a torque figure or a drive type on its own.
Are Thrustmaster wheel rims sold separately from the base?
The Thrustmaster home page shows the Formula Wheel Add-On and GT Wheel Add-On as add-ons, which means the rim is a separate purchase from the base. The product page states what is included in each purchase.
Where do I confirm compatibility for a base?
The maker's product and support pages hold the compatibility list. The listing title names platforms, but the compatibility list is the final authority for what works.
Recent updates
- : First published.