BestRacingWheel

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

MOZA R16 vs Fanatec Podium: High Torque Compared

Short answer: MOZA R16 and Fanatec Podium are two direct drive base names in the high-torque tier of sim racing listings. Direct drive means the motor turns the wheel directly, and torque in newton meters is the stated figure to compare. Neither the name nor the drive type is a figure, and the guides compare on stated details only. Read the stated details, then check the maker's compatibility list and support pages. The high torque and premium guides show the comparison.

What the names MOZA R16 and Podium tell you

In sim racing listings, MOZA R16 and Fanatec Podium are two names that appear for high-torque direct drive wheel bases. The R16 is a model name in MOZA's direct drive line, and Podium is the premium base line Fanatec uses across several wheels. Both names read as the base itself, sometimes in a bundle with a rim and pedals.

Direct drive means the motor turns the steering wheel directly: no gears as in a gear-driven base, and no belt as in a belt-driven base. The drive type is a stated word on the listing. The model name is a label, not a figure. A title that says "direct drive" tells you the drive type; it does not tell you how the wheel behaves in a specific title.

If you are new to the drive types, start with the direct drive guide or the comparison of direct drive and gear driven bases before reading the listings.

Start with the torque figure, in Nm

The first stated detail to compare is torque, written in newton meters (Nm). Nm is the unit makers use for the force the motor can apply to the wheel. A listing that gives a number in Nm gives you a comparable figure; a listing that only says "force feedback" or "high torque" gives you no number to compare.

Maker pages show the same unit. Logitech's racing wheel page, for example, lists 2.3 Nm for the G923 and 8 Nm for the RS50 base. That shows how a maker states torque in Nm on its own page. This site reads the same way: a torque figure is read from the listing and the maker page, and never added from elsewhere.

A torque figure is a stated number. It does not add a description of how the wheel behaves or how it compares in hand. The high torque guide is built on these stated figures only, so a listing without a number is treated as not stated.

Rotation and the drive words on a listing

Next to torque, rotation is the other stated figure a listing may give. Rotation is written in degrees, commonly 1080 degrees for a direct drive base. A title that says "switchable rotation" means the rotation range can be changed; the listing states the range where it gives one. Like torque, rotation is a figure, not a description of behavior.

The drive words come next. "Direct drive" is the drive type. "Force feedback" is the effect the motor produces, and a direct drive base produces it by turning the wheel directly. Some titles carry both words; some carry only "force feedback". Neither word is a torque figure.

The words "servo base" and "wheelbase" also appear in titles as names for the motor housing that the rim attaches to. They describe the part, not the drive type and not a figure.

Quick release, rims and the ecosystem

High-torque bases usually sell with a quick release so rims can be swapped. Fanatec describes its quick release as motorsport-derived and phrases its base line as one base across formula, GT, rally and drift wheels. That is a stated description on the maker's page. The quick release system guide explains the part in general terms.

The R16 belongs to MOZA's ecosystem, and Podium belongs to Fanatec's. Rims and pedals sold alone are not in the site's guides, because the guides cover complete wheels and pedal sets where the listing states the parts. For an upgrade path, read the maker's add-on pages to see which rims, pedals and shifters match the base. The interchangeable rims guide explains why rims are often bought separately.

Platforms and the maker's compatibility list

Console support is a stated detail. A title that names a platform, like PS5 or Xbox, states it; a title that names none leaves the question open. The maker's compatibility list decides. Thrustmaster's homepage, for example, lists PC, PS4, PS5 and Xbox among its racing categories, which shows the kind of platform words a maker states on its own pages.

For the MOZA R16 and the Fanatec Podium, the platform question is the same as for any base: read the title, then read the maker's pages. This site reads platforms from the title only and does not add a platform a listing does not state. The console compatibility guide walks through the question.

What this article cannot tell you is which desk, stand or cockpit a base fits. The maker's manual and setup pages cover mounting and the parts in the box. Ask the maker about the console, the included parts and the support pages before you buy.

A short checklist for two high-torque bases

Keep the comparison to stated details. The site's premium direct drive guide is built the same way, so use it alongside the checklist below.

  • Torque in Nm: the stated figure on the listing or the maker page.
  • Rotation in degrees: the stated range, including switchable rotation where given.
  • Drive words: direct drive and force feedback as stated words, not figures.
  • Quick release: whether the base accepts rims from the same maker.
  • Platform: the console or PC words in the title, checked against the maker's compatibility list.
  • Upgrade path: which pedals, rims and shifters from the same maker match the base.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You compare two high-torque bases by nameCompare stated torque, rotation, quick release and platform, then read the maker pagesBest High Torque Racing Wheels in 2026: 5 Picks by Stated Torque
You want a direct drive base for PC racingA direct drive base from the PC guideBest Racing Wheel for PC (2026): Racing Wheel Reviews
You need a console base and a listing states no platformAsk the maker, then match a platform guide to your consoleBest Racing Wheel for PS5 (2026): PS5 Racing Wheel Reviews
You plan a full setup: base, rim, pedals, shifterA premium wheel and pedal system where the listing states the partsBest Premium Racing Wheel (2026): 8 Picks by Stated Specs
You want one box with wheel, base and pedalsA wheel and pedals system from the matching guideBest Racing Wheel and Pedals (2026): 13 Picks by Specs
You are new to direct drive and want the drive types explained firstThe direct drive guideBest Direct Drive Racing Wheels in 2026: 13 Picks by Specs

Questions

Is the MOZA R16 a direct drive base?

The R16 is a model name in MOZA's direct drive line, and listings carry it as a high-torque base name. Read the stated details on the listing and the maker's page for the figures.

What is the Fanatec Podium?

Podium is the premium base line Fanatec uses across several wheels, including licensed wheels named on the maker's page. The stated details live on Fanatec's product pages.

Which base has more torque?

Torque is the stated figure in Nm. Compare the numbers where the listing or the maker page states them. Without a stated figure, there is no number to compare.

Do these bases work with a PS5 or an Xbox?

The maker's compatibility list decides. Read the platform words in the title and ask the maker about your console before buying. The PS5 guide shows how the site matches platforms.

Can I add a different rim or pedals later?

Quick release rims and pedal sets from the same maker are the usual upgrade path. Rims and pedals sold alone are not in the site's guides; use the maker's add-on pages.

What does high torque mean in a listing?

High torque is a tier name for direct drive bases with a stated Nm figure. It is a category word, not a description of behavior.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides